The first small steps

Ever since I started to get interested in fashion I was fascinated by the art of making clothes. I always thought it would be amazing to just sit down behind your sewing machine and whip up whatever you feel like, and proudly wear it the next day. So about ten years ago, I started taking sewing lessons. They were disappointing – I did not expect sewing to be so technical, and I hadn’t expected to have to do quite so much… math. Needless to say, since I was about 15 years old at the time, I quickly lost interest and returned to store bought clothes.

And now, ten years later, I’m giving it another shot. I got a gorgeous, old sewing machine from a friend:

Image

Oh, that’s a nice little cupboard…

Image

…except it’s not!

…and I sort of just… got started. I was very much inspired by blogs that focused on refashioning – making really pretty clothes out of just-not-right to downright ugly items. The first thing I tried was making a kimono style jacket from a blouse that was way too big, a really weird fabric and overall, hugely frustrating to work with. But in the end, just by putting in a new seam here and there my sewing machine and I started to get along. I noticed that all knowledge from ten years ago hadn’t seeped out of my brains yet, which was really motivating!

But I figured things would go a lot faster if I wouldn’t have to stumble around in half finished and pin-filled items all the time. I could use an extra pair of hands – or, even better, a clone that could wear the clothes for me. And that’s when I came across Ethel!

Image

Meet Ethel! She’s a lovely lady. She’ll be modelling my projects!

She moved in with me and we’re getting along pretty well! She agreed to being my main model so you’ll be seeing a lot of her from now on. I’m excited to really get started! I have a heap of clothes that could do with a bit of tweaking lying around, and even traced a pattern for an entirely new dress (daring!), so I won’t get bored any time soon.

Unfortunately I didn’t take photos of my very first refashions, but from now on, I’ll keep my camera around and ready and try to document as much as possible.

I hope that, a year from now, I’ll look back on these posts and see lots, lots of progress. I’m afraid it’ll be a long and tedious process but I’m not the girl I was ten years ago. This time I won’t quit. I promise!

Leave a Reply

